Thinning Plums

Another update from Al in late-June:

THINNING. After apricots and peaches it is the large plums: Yellow, Green Gage, Yakima and Bradshaw. I cannot remember such a heavy set on the GG and Br, as I have this year. Look at the attached photos: first 2 “before”, the last 2 “after”. You can imagine the number of bird songs I have listened to while thinning a couple of large trees, each taking me about 5 hrs. Ah, the labour of love… Next will be pears and apples. By the time I finish (my endurance is still rather limited), it will be time to start picking the Yellows.

Plums before thinning

Plums before thinning

Plums after thinning

Plums after thinning

Leave a Reply

